Receive alerts from your local agencies
...or text your ZIP CODE to 888777 for mobile alerts

Full Notification

Jefferson County Indiana Emergency Management Agency
Monday January 28th, 2019 :: 04:07 p.m. EST

Community

Wind Chill Advisory until 02:00PM Wednesday

A blast of arctic air will move into the Ohio Valley overnight Tuesday, and remain in place through Thursday. Air temperatures will plummet into the single digits for lows Wednesday morning that will combine with northwest winds of 10 to 15 mph to create dangerous wind chill values.

* WHAT...Very cold wind chills expected. Wind chills as low as 20 below zero expected.

* WHERE...South central Indiana.

* WHEN...From 2 AM EST /1 AM CST/ to 2 PM EST /1 PM CST/ Wednesday.

* ADDITIONAL DETAILS...The cold wind chills could cause frostbite on exposed skin in as little as 30 minutes.

* AFFECTED AREAS: SCOTT ... PERRY ... HARRISON ... CRAWFORD ... WASHINGTON ... ORANGE ... CLARK ... DUBOIS ... FLOYD ... JEFFERSON

Instructions:

A Wind Chill Advisory means that cold air and the wind will combine to create low wind chills. Frostbite and hypothermia can occur if precautions are not taken. Make sure you wear a hat and gloves.

View full article (nws)

Address/Location
Jefferson County Indiana Emergency Management Agency
300 E Main St
Madison, IN 47250

Contact
Emergency: 9-1-1
Non-emergencies: 812-265-7616

TEXT-A-TIP -  Text TIP JEFFERSONEMA followed by your message, to 888777

Submit an anonymous web tip

Alert Details

Severity:
Moderate - Possible threat to life or property
Urgency:
Expected - Responsive action SHOULD be taken soon (within next hour)
Certainty:
Likely (p > ~50%)
Category:
Meteorological (inc. flood)
Event:
Wind Chill Advisory

Navigate & Discover